British Wildlife Photography Competition

http://www.bwpawards.org/static/winner-2014.html?/galleries/Comp-2014

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 21.39.53Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 21.40.33Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 21.40.43Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 21.40.54

Seeing last years winners and entries, gave me confidence that my own images were relevant to enter into the “Documentary Series”. The conservation of red squirrels is an extremely important feat in British wildlife and so I hoped that showing images of educating the next generation of the efforts would be an unusual entry. I tried to pick colourful and vibrant images to compliment the education of children and avoided graphic images of the dissection. I made the bold decision to include one image of a skinned grey squirrel, if the children are willing to look at to then the general public need to stop ignoring the situation and try to understand as well. It may not be what the judges want to see but I would not be true to myself if I ignored the grey squirrels and only showed cute images of the reds. Avoiding the difficult subjects in life won’t ever fix them or make them easier, it will only amplify the problem. I’m not 100% sure I chose the right images, however I feel confident that I could develop my project over the next year and enter again for the 2016 competition with a stronger submission.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 21.53.57

Leave a comment

Filed under Major Documentary Project

Leave a Reply

