EDUCATE THE NEXT GENERATION!!

EUREKA!!!

I’ve found my purpose/direction/audience/end goal/perfect project. Back in January when I went to the UK Squirrel Accord meeting, “Public awareness and Education” was voted as the main priority. So, why not educate the next generation who will be able to make a difference to the red squirrel conservation efforts?! I am going to create education packs for teachers to use in primary schools to teach their children about conservation and more specifically, red squirrels. I need to look into the national curriculum and contact teachers to find out how to design an education pack, what content they must have who I can best use my photographs. I feel like something has clicked and this is what I was always meant to do.

I’ve contacted Vic the head of Camp Wild at Escot Park http://www.escot-devon.co.uk/camp-wild/ where the red squirrel enclosure is found and she has sent me over some really useful resources to start looking at and I am going to go down to Devon to shoot a school group visiting the squirrels in a few days. I feel a new passion for my project and really want to do everyone involved in the red squirrel struggle justice with all the information I have learnt over the past months.

National Curriculum >>>  http://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20131202172639/http://www.education.gov.uk/schools/teachingandlearning/curriculum/primary/b00199179/science/ks2/sc2

How NOT to create an education pack!! >> http://www.dardni.gov.uk/red-squirrel-education.pdf

Some facts (I need to make them more engaging than just photo and text):

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 23.16.54Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 23.17.03Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 23.17.10

Leave a comment

Filed under Major Documentary Project

Leave a Reply

