Escot Squirrel Talks

In this shoot I wanted to show the publics engagement and interest in red squirrels, all ages were captivated by them. I also wanted to show how everyone wants to take photos of them. Once again, I feel that my own interest and excitement at the publics engagement distracted from my photographic skills. As I was shooting I was thinking about double page spreads in my book and information about social media statistics and links to red squirrel Facebook pages and hashtags… I was so desperate to get the message across that I was thinking too far in advance and not concentrating on the job at hand – get a set of string images that don’t need statistics to be impacting but are merely enhanced by them.

I should have used a wider lens and got the whole group listening to the talk in the frame, rather than cutting people in half or losing the red squirrel in the shot to compensate for peoples positions in the picture. I also should have got written permission to use the photos with young children in; whilst I asked at the time if anyone didn’t want their child in the frame (no one objected) I should have backed myself up a bit if they suddenly changed their mind after publishing one! Luckily nothing has come of it but its a lesson learnt. I feel my photography is still a bit ‘lost’ at the moment and I need to find a purpose for it, other than this book which I’m still not sure how I will execute. I know the message I want to get out I’m just gathering an archive of images I’m hoping to slot in, and it should be the other way round or at least hand in hand.

Kennaway Camo

Becky:Kerry Talk Contacts << PDF of contacts

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 12.01.58Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 12.02.07Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 12.02.13Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 12.02.23Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 12.02.31

Leave a comment

Filed under Major Documentary Project

Leave a Reply

