Shoot with Richard Austin

http://www.richardaustinimages.com

Meeting Richard was extremely beneficial. As a documentary photographer, I usually stay clear of props, set up shots and baskets filled with daffodils (at least I know theres a commercial back up for me!!). However, I learnt a lot on this shoot, from being behind the lens to post production so I can’t thank Richard enough for giving up his morning to spend time with me and the reds.

I have never been the most confident with ‘camera settings’, often shooting several of the same shot until I get it right, so it helped me having an expert by my side giving me confidence and reassurance in what I was doing. It meant I could concentrate more on my compositions and thoughts, rather than buttons and dials. In hindsight I should have avoided the “No food or drink” sign (I thought it would be ironic to have a squirrel eating next to the sign) and the daffodils, and shot with a broader range of the enclosure, showing the squirrels in their habitat and less in human contact. After all, this was a set up shot so the squirrels are not usually sniffing the flowers! I had a coffee table book in my mind and so was trying to get the balance between “pretty pictures” that people want to see as they flick through bright coloured pages but I also wanted to get hard hitting facts and issues across – which I certainly didn’t achieve in this shoot. I also got side tracked by the ‘early signs of springs’ and could almost picture my own Easter card being produced! I felt rude to be ignoring Richards encouragement to get the shot as the squirrel jumped through the basket handle, “A Flying Squirrel! People LOVE this stuff”; but not the audience I wanted to engage. It wasn’t a waste of a shoot by any means however, as I felt more confident with my camera and was pleased with some of the shots I did manage to get (daffodil free). One thing Richard hammered home was to focus on the eyes – which I knew already but had somehow lost its significance in my mind, so I thank Richard for bringing that back into the foreground of my thoughts. In terms of post production, Richard introduced me to the Feather tool which I had not been aware of and quite frankly its changed my life!! Cant believe I didn’t know about it!! But I feel whilst I am confident of PhotoShop, there is SO much I don’t know. You’re not given “PhotoShop Lessons” in life and whilst I don’t want to make drastic changes like in the fashion world, learning a few more skills is always beneficial and there is always something knew to master.

Overall I am happy with how this shoot went, I just lost sight a bit of my final outcome so I’ll need to go back and shoot again with a more “documentary” head on. I have to admit though, it was fun photographing these cute little guys and the bright daffodils in the early morning before the general public attacked.

Austin Shoot Contacts

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 15.41.43 Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 15.41.51 Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 15.42.00 Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 15.42.09 Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 15.42.18 Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 15.42.28

Leave a comment

Filed under Major Documentary Project

Leave a Reply

