Book Layout Reflection

After looking again at my new layout I’ve realised I need to address several things:

1. A little too much repetition.  If I include more than one frame from the same vantage point I need to try to vary the feel and pace of the images.  If one is big wide landscape with horses coming up the track, crop the second one really tight to focus on expressions and detail.  Too many photos of groups of horses travelling slowly on the gallops that are too similar.

2. When laying out a double page spread, I need to think about where the gutter of the book has to run.  If need be, offset the image (it doesn’t have to fill both pages), or recrop the image to make it work.

3. One or two images are a bit simplistic (50mm centre of frame) see if there is something stronger to use instead.

4. Swap the order of the last two images.

5. Reformat text on first page and make picture bigger.

6. Quotes are too large and try not in italic. “With thanks to everyone…” text much too big.

7. The board (bible) pic and fish bowl images try them bigger.

8. Large double page spread of stable lad’s face resize so gutter not though his eye.

Also I need to think about the overall message which comes across a bit negative at the moment.   It is fine to make the point that its bloody hard work for hardly any money, and as a result there is a high turnover of staff, but if I dwell too hard on that point, my images don’t really back it up.  Overall the tone of what I have produced image wise is optimistic, and generally upbeat.  I think the words need to reflect that whilst also making the point that its not for everyone (otherwise why does anyone at all stay in the industry).

I need to be bolder with the layout!!

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 16.06.33 Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 16.06.46

Leave a comment

Filed under AD5801

Leave a Reply

