Gypsy Inspiration

Book and Exhibition – “The New Gypsies” by Iain McKell has given me a good insight into the travelling community and given me confidence in what to look for whilst I am there. His shots of the open fields and horses is of particular relevance to me (what with it being a horse fair) and will help me when taking my establishing shot. The girl in front of the wagon also stood out to me from his book, the simplicity of it contrasts enormously with how I imagined their wagons to look (after various episodes of my big fat gypsy wedding!) and I feel sheds a good light on their community. However, a more stereotypical depiction of a gypsy community is represented by “North West Wedding Photography” who truly capture the travelling community at their best…

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.28.21Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.28.53Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.29.07Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.36.34Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.37.16Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 10.36.51

Also a point of interest: http://fashion.telegraph.co.uk/article/TMG5437504/Stow-horse-fair-gipsy-fashion-and-horse-trading.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

